Enjoy the American Legion Concert Series

As a community band, the mission of the Holland American Legion Band is to offer an opportunity for life-long musical expression and enjoyment by providing quality and challenging musical experiences for its musicians and audiences. It is our goal to educate and entertain our audiences, and to excel at what we do. Following the goal of the American Legion Post that founded the band, we also continue to provide musical support for local community and veterans organizations' events and activities.

2019  PERFORMANCE  SCHEDULE

Saturday, February 9- Halfway to Summer Concert Jack Miller Aud., Hope College - 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, May 11 - Tulip Time Parade of Bands in Downtown Holland - 2:00 p.m.
Monday, May 27 - Memorial Day Parade in Downtown Holland - 9:00 a.m.
Monday, May 27 - Memorial Day Program at Pilgrim Home Cemetery - 11:00 a.m.
Tuesday, June 11 - Concert in Kollen Park - 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, June 18 - Concert in Kollen Park - 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, June 25 - Concert in Kollen Park - 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, July 2 - Concert in Kollen Park - 7:30 p.m.
 Tuesday, July 9 - Concert in Kollen Park - 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, July 16 - Concert in Kollen Park - 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, July 23 - Concert in Kollen Park - 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, July 30 - Concert in Kollen Park - 7:30 p.m.                                    
Tuesday, August 6 - Concert in Centennial Park - 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, August 13 - Concert in Kollen Park - 7:30 p.m.
Community Day Concert - Windmill Island
Monday, November 11 - Veterans Day Program

A Brief History

In 1920 the newly formed Willard G. Leenhouts American Legion Post 6 in Holland, Michigan, established a band. American Legion members from the area who had experience on musical instruments were invited to join the band, and following the Legion's purpose of serving the entire community, other musicians from the area were also invited to participate. The band members' pride and commitment have been consistent throughout the years.

The band has grown from 25 musicians in 1920 to nearly 100 in recent years. There is a core of regular members that is augmented by other area musicians, including high school and college students, during the summer concert season. Due to a strong sense of pride in the band and its service, many of the band's current musicians are second or third generation Holland American Legion Band members. 


Follow us on social media, order a Visitors Guide, or sign up for our e-Newsletter!

Start tagging us now on

FACEBOOK
@discoverholland
INSTAGRAM
#discoverholland
TWITTER
@discoverholland
PINTEREST
discoverholland